top of page

“Your heart is the light of this world. Don’t cover it with your mind.” - Mooji

by Nancy Huettig | October 2017

Hi , I am a Wholistic Coach, Yoga Teacher, Reiki Master, and Ayurvedic practitioner. My work is rooted in empowering and guiding people to live a passionate life aligned with their authentic self, embodying a balanced body, mind, and soul with the Universe.

My story begins in Hamburg, Germany where I began my career in the corporate business world.


After years of overwhelming stress and unhappiness, I eventually hit my breaking point (sound familiar?) and surrendered to the ever-growing call to travel the world.

In taking this first step out of my comfort zone, I began the Trip of My Life, which brought me across all parts of Southeast Asia, Australia, India and two years later, back to the island I now call home, Koh Phangan in Thailand. Yes, it was my Eat, Pray, Love Moment; and I embraced it.

Within all stories of deep transformation lie significant moments of clarity. After leaving Hamburg in 2013, I quickly discovered the practice of Meditation at a Vipassana (translation: insight and clear-seeing) retreat in northern Thailand and received my first clear message not to return to Germany.

That same year, I came to Koh Phangan for the first time to do a detox, opening up my world, to the endless perspective and possibility of holistic living. As the story already reveals, this would not be my first and last time on the sacred island. In 2014, I moved to Australia to live and work for a year before finally landing in India.

It was my time in India that catalyzed the biggest turning point of my trip. In the midst of deeply connecting to the healing arts of Yoga and Reiki, I experienced a meditation that changed everything.

In my mind’s eye, I could see my future self laid out right before me: I was saying goodbye to Germany. I closed my flat with nothing but a backpack on my back with everything I would soon carry with me to the tropical island of my dreams. The message was absolutely clear and so I followed.

I moved to Koh Phangan in November 2015 and haven’t looked back since.

In the last two years, I’ve designed the simple yet abundant life I always wanted to live, rooted first and foremost in Nature. She continues to gift me time and time again with her boundless grounding and healing potential. Based out of my sacred home in the majestic mountains of Chaloklum, I wake up with my dog Lily each and every morning to the sounds of jungle and vibrant smells of fresh fruit around me. My mornings are spent on my yoga mat offering affirmations of gratitude and intention for whatever present moment brings. The beautiful ocean breeze and friendly local Thai community are only a motorbike ride away.


I actively immerse myself in the culture of my Thai home, having just begun lessons to learn the mother tongue. The sweeping mountainous jungle terrain holds space for the world I choose to experience, one that is grounded in earth, with balance and intuition. I find life more freeing, without shoes, to ground more closely with Nature herself, and am not surprised at all when people call me “No Shoes Nancy!”


No shoes and no official mailing address? Life doesn’t get any more liberating than that.

The culture of Koh Phangan is tangibly one of consciousness and kindness, where community elevates the spirit and supports each and every person in their healing journey, wherever they may be. While the Trip of my Life has finally brought me to Koh Phangan, the place I call home base, I am also anchored in a vision to co-create community, workshops and retreats around the world in Asia, Australia and Europe. Koh Phangan is my place, where I am feeling support in creating my dream life and go through my ups and downs.

My advice for other women is be your authentic self, have faith and live the life you want to live. Shine from your heart whole and complete.

Nancy Huettig Wholistic Coach & Healing Arts Wholistic Island Retreats Koh Phangan/ Thailand E-mail: wholistic@nancyhuettig.com Mobil: +66 61 227 00 10 Koh Phangan/ Thailand Websites: www.nancyhuettig.com and www.wholisticislandretreats.com

4 views0 comments
bottom of page